Transfer Car Title in Georgia

What is a Title Transfer?Transfer-Title

The vehicle’s title is the legal document that shows vehicle ownership. It includes the names of each person who owns the vehicle. A title transfer must take place within 30 days of any of those names changing.

Reasons for title transfers include:
* Buying or selling a vehicle
* Paying off a vehicle loan
* Transferring vehicle ownership among family members
* Gifting or donating a vehicle
* Inheriting a vehicle
* Making name changes on the current title

Selling a VehicleTransfer-Title

In addition to the buyer’s research, you can also do your own research by ordering a Vehicle History Report (VHR), which will help the buyer better understand the vehicle he’s considering, as well as your good intentions.

After you complete the sell, take these steps to transfer the title:

1. Properly complete, sign, and date the current title. This includes entering the current odometer reading if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.

2. Make sure that the buyer properly signs and dates the title.

3. Have the title notarized.

4. Complete and have notarized a Bill of Sale with the buyer and keep a copy for yourself.
5. Complete a Title/Tag Application.

6. If your county requires it, obtain a record of current certificate of vehicle emission inspection for the buyer. You can visit Georgia’s Clean Air Force for specific rules about obtaining an emission inspection before selling a used vehicle.

7. Give all the paperwork to the buyer so he can visit his County tax Commissioner’s tag office to complete the transfer.

Buying a VehicleTransfer-Title

When purchasing a new vehicle, the dealer will handle the title transfer.

Shop around online for a new car before heading out to the dealership.

Used Cars
Buying a pre-owned vehicle saves money, but you should invest time in researching the vehicle, such as ordering a VHR for the vehicle you are considering before purchasing the vehicle.

Consider the expenses that come after you take the car home. Look into affordable auto finance options and reasonable car insurance policies so you will have a relatively clear idea of the cost of owning this vehicle.

Once you found your bargains and are ready to finalize the sale, follow these steps to transfer the title:

1. Make sure the seller completes, signs, and dates the title. If the vehicle is less than 10 years old, check the actual odometer reading with the number the seller records on the title.

2. Sign and date the title yourself.

3. Have the title notarized.

4. Complete and have notarized a Bill of Sale with the seller, and suggest the seller keeps a copy for himself.

5. Complete a Title/Tag Application.

6. Make sure that the seller provides proof of a current certificate of vehicle emission inspection if it is required in your county. Sellers are not required to provide the actual certificate, but the seller is not allowed to sell a vehicle that does not have a current certificate. Check with Georgia’s Clean Air Force for more information.

7. Gather all the paperwork, including the title, form the seller and take it and the following to your County Tax Commissioner’s tag office:

* Your valid driver’s license or state-issued ID card
* proof of insurance

* A completed Certificate of Inspection. A law enforcement officer or County Tag Agent must complete this form after visually inspecting the serial plate

* The fee of $18 (but if you are past the 30-day time limit, you will pay $28).
NOTE: It is safest to make sure the title is in your hand when you part from the seller rather than agreeing to allow him to mail it at a later date.

You can also take care of the vehicle’s registration when you’re at the County Tax Commissioner’s tag office. You will need to follow an additional Car Registration process.

Transferring to FamilyTransfer-Title

Title transfers vary slightly when they occur within immediate family members, which include:

* grandparents
* parents
* siblings
* spouses
* children

Since families transfer vehicles among one another at various times during the year, it may or may not be time to pay taxes and other fees on the vehicle. It would be best to contact your County Tax Commissioner’s tag office for instructions specific to your situation, however both parties should be prepared to:

1. Complete, sign, and date the title. The current owner is the “seller” and the new owner is the “buyer.”

2. Make sure the title has the correct odometer reading if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.

3. Have the title notarized.

4. Complete a Title/Tag Application

5. Present proof of a certificate of vehicle emission inspection if the county requires it.

6. Go to the County Tax Commissioner’s tag office with above paperwork and $18 fee to complete the transfer

NOTE: the previous vehicle owner cannot transfer the license plate along with the title. The new owner must register the vehicle in his name, which will include taking care of the license plate.

Gifting a VehicleTransfer-Title

Gifting a vehicle, like transferring vehicles amongst family members, may require the new owner to pay taxes, which may be based on various factors that your County Tax Commissioner’s tag office can provide details for.

Steps may vary, but recipients of gifted vehicles should be prepared to:

1. Sign and date the title as the “buyer” after the current owner completes, signs, and dates the title as the “seller.”

2. Check to make sure the odometer reading matches the number on the title if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.

3. Have the title notarized.

4. If county requires it, obtain proof of a certificate of vehicle emission inspection.

5. Go to the County Tax Commissioner’s tag office with above paperwork and $18 fee.

NOTE: the new owner can also register the vehicle at the County Tax Commissioner’s tag office; refer to Car Registration for more details and fees.

Donating a VehicleTransfer-Title

For donating a car, you must follow a different process. You must research qualified charities and tax benefits through state information. You will also need to contact a tax attorney to make sure you follow the appropriate steps for your specific situation.

Inheriting a VehicleTransfer-Title

A probate attorney can help with the exact steps needed for a title transfer for an inherited vehicle, but unless you have extenuating circumstances, the steps will look like these:
1. Collect original title with deceased’s name (you may need to submit a Form T-4 to document satisfied liens).

2. obtain an Affidavit of Inheritance of a Motor Vehicle or certified copy of Letters of Testamentary/Administration from a probated will.

3. Complete a Title/Tag Application

4. Find out if your county requires emissions certificates.

5. Gather the applicable documents listed above, your driver’s license or state-issued ID card, proof of insurance, and $18 fee, then head to the county Tax Commissioner’s tag office.

The County Commissioner’s tag office will also help you register the vehicle in your name if you want to take care of this while you’re there.

NOTE: Since you need proof of insurance for both titling and registration, you will want to adhere to specific details about minimum liability insurance requirements, as well as an affordable policy.

Making Name CorrectionsTransfer-Title

Changing a Name

1. To reflect your new or corrected name, change your name on your driver’s license or state-issued ID card.

2. Obtain a certified copy of the legal document that reflects your name. Such a document could be a birth certificate, marriage certificate, or divorce decree.

3. Complete a Title/Tag Application.

4. Go to your County Tax Commissioner’s tag office with the above documents in addition to your corrected license or ID and:
* proof of insurance
* current title and registration
* fee of $18

To prepare for situations that call for proof of your legal name, consider obtaining a vital record. For more information about keeping your name current for driver and vehicle services, there are other processes and details.

Deleting a Name

1. Ensure you have the original title and $18 fee.

2. Take the person you’re removing from the title and go to the County Tax Commissioner’s tag office to complete the transaction. You may need to complete additional paperwork depending on the situation.

Adding a Name

1. Locate the current title.

2. Make sure you and the new additional owner have:
* your licenses or ID cards
* proofs of insurance
* $18 fee

3. With the new additional owner go to the County Tax Commissioner’s tag agency to complete the transaction. Depending on your situation, you may or may not need to update the vehicle’s registration.