Renew your Vermont driver's license

Determine the Status of Your LicenseRenew-License

You must renew your license every two or four years. You must also be able to prove financial responsibility, usually by carrying car insurance.

Valid license
You can choose to renew every two or four years, and you can renew by mail or in person.

Expired license
Your license is valid for 14 days after its expiration date. You won’t be fined after that; however, you will get a ticket should a police officer stop you while driving with an expired license.

If your license has been expired for more than three years, you will need to pass the vision, road, and written tests to renew.

Suspended license
A driving record report will give you the status of your suspended license. When you do renew, you will most likely see a significant increase in your insurance rate.

Lost License
You need to get a duplicate.

If you are unsure of the status of your license, you can purchase a driving record report.

Check Your Renewal NoticeRenew-License

A renewal notice should arrive in the mail about 30 days before your license expires. If you do not get a notice, you must fill out another driver license application.

Renew OnlineRenew-License

Online renewal is not available.

Renew By MailRenew-License

You’ll need to:

* Fill out and sign your renewal notice
* Fill out a driver license application
* Include a check ($40 for four years, $25 for two)
* Mail it all to
Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State St.
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001

Your new license should arrive by mail within two weeks.

Renew In PersonRenew-License

Go to any DMV with:

* A completed and signed registration renewal form
* A completed driver’s license application (if you didn’t get a renewal notice)
* Cash or check for the renewal fee ($40 for four years, $25 for two)

If you choose to get your picture taken, you’ll get your new license immediately. If you choose to stick with your old photo, your license will arrive by main in about two weeks.

Update Your Driving SkillsRenew-License

Refresh your driving skills by taking a supplemental traffic school course. It’s not required, but it could get you a discount on your insurance rate.