Renew your New Mexico driver's license

Determine the Status of Your LicenseRenew-License

Your driver’s license will be valid for four or eight years. If you are over age 75, you will need to renew it annually. You may renew your license up to 90 days in advance of its expiration date (usually 30 days after your birthday), and you have a 30 day grace period after it expires.

If you are unsure of the status of your license, you can order a copy of your driving record to check.

Valid License
You must renew at an MVD field office in person.

Expired License
You must renew at an MVD field office in person. There are no late fees; however, after your license has been expired for 30 days it is illegal to drive. If you license has been expired for over one year, you must pass the written and driving tests again.

Suspended License
The process for reinstating a suspended license is different from that for renewing a valid license. When you get in reinstated, expect to see an increase in your insurance payments.

Lost License
Follow the process to order a replacement license.

Check Your Renewal NoticeRenew-License

The MVD does not issue renewal notices.

Renew OnlineRenew-License

This option is not available.

Renew By MailRenew-License

If you are military personnel or a dependent and currently stationed outside the state, you may renew by mail.

If you’ll be back in New Mexico soon, you can contact the MVD to begin the process to get a 30 day temporary license.

If you will remain out of state for a while, contact the MVD and order a renewal-by-mail packet.

Renew in PersonRenew-License

Visit the MVD with:

* Current license
* Proof of ID
* Payment for fee ($18 for four-year renewal, $34 for eight-year renewal, free if you’re 75 or older)

You’ll need to pass the vision test, too. Expect your new, permanent license within 40 days. In the meantime, you’ll be issued a temporary license. If you don’t get your license in 40 days, call the MVD.

Update Your Driving SkillsRenew-License

Stay up-to-date with traffic laws and safety techniques by enrolling in a supplementary training course. In some cases you can reduce points on your driving record or satisfy a traffic ticket. Completing a class many even earn you a break on your insurance rates.