Renew your Michigan driver's license

Determine the Status of Your LicenseRenew-License

If you are not sure about the status of your license, you can order a copy of your driving record.

Valid License
Renew your standard operator’s license every four years either by mail or in person.

Expired License
It is illegal to drive with an expired license, but you may renew up to four years past its expiration date without having to retake all the tests. Follow the regular renewal process, and pay a $7 late fee.

Suspended License
Situations vary so you may want to check your driving record. You also might want to shop around for a new insurance policy since your rates are likely to rise.

Lost License
Follow the process for replacing a lost license.

Check Your Renewal NoticeRenew-License

You’ll be mailed a renewal notice about 45 days before your license expires. It will indicate whether you can renew by mail or in person. If you did not receive your notice or have additional questions, call the SOS at (888) SOS-MICH.

Renew OnlineRenew-License

This option is not available.

Renew By MailRenew-License

The SOS will let you know if you are qualified to renew by mail. You may not renew by mail if:

* Your license has expired
* You do not have a Social Security number
* You are on the sex offender registry
* You renewed by mail last time
* You need to make changes to your name or license type
* You need to make a restriction or endorsement change
* You experienced a physical or mental condition in the past six months that interfered with your ability to drive safely (including loss of consciousness)

If you qualify to renew by mail and you have at least two weeks before your license expires, do the following to renew by mail:

* Fill in eye color, height, and weight on the renewal form
* Note any address changes
* Provide your Social Security number
* Include fee payment of $18 (check, money order, or major credit card)

Mail everything to:

Michigan Department of State
7064 Crowner Dr.
Lansing, MI 48980-0001

Expect your new license in about two weeks.

Members of the military: Your renewal process may vary so check with the SOS.

Out-of-state residents: If you will be out of the state when your license expires, you may request a 180-day extension of your license or you may attempt to renew by mail, if you qualify.

Renew In PersonRenew-License

Visit your local SOS branch office and be prepared to:

* Pass a vision screening
* Provide your Social Security number or a letter from the Social Security Administration confirming you do not qualify for one, plus provide proof of your legal presence in the county
* Bring your license or other proof of ID
* Pay $18 fee

Members of the military: Your renewal process may vary so check with the SOS.

Out-of-state residents: If you will be out of the state when your license expires, you may request a 180-day extension of your license or you may attempt to renew by mail, if you qualify.

Update Your Driving SkillsRenew-License

Stay up-to-date with traffic laws and safety techniques by enrolling in a supplementary training course. In some cases you can reduce points on your driving record or satisfy a traffic ticket. Completing a class many even earn you a break on your insurance rates.