Michigan car registration renewals

Determine the Status of Your RegistrationRegistration-Renewals

Renew MI Registration
Your vehicle’s registration must be renewed annually, and you must carry insurance at all times.
Register in MI for the First Time
If you just moved to the state or bought a new car, you’ll need to follow the process for first-time registration.
Register a Non-Operational Vehicle
Filing for non-registration status is not necessary. When you are ready to return the vehicle to the road visit any SOS office with:
* Proof of car insurance
* Identification
* Check, credit card, or money order to pay fees, including late fees if you allowed the registration to expire

Check Your Renewal NoticeRegistration-Renewals

You’ll be mailed a renewal notice from the SOS about 45 days before your registration is due to expire. If you do not receive one, the SOS will not send a new one. Instead, you must renew in person or by mail.

Calculate Your FeesRegistration-Renewals

Your renewal notice will state how much you owe. If you did not receive one, call (888) 767-6424 for assistance.

Avoid Late Fees and Penalties
Registration expires on your birthday. If you renew past that date, you’ll have to pay a $10 late charge. If it is expired for more than six months, you will be charged a 24-month renewal fee.

Renew Online, In Person, By Mail, By Telephone, or at a Self-Serve StationRegistration-Renewals

Online
If your renewal notice has your name, address, and vehicle information correct, and it includes a PIN, you may renew online. Have a Visa, MasterCard, or Discover to pay the fees. Simply visit the state’s Online Renewal Service and follow the instructions.

Note: If your registration expires in seven days or less, consider renewing in person. Processing takes up to two weeks.

In Person
Visit any SOS branch office with:

* Your renewal notice or current registration
* Driver’s license
* Proof of car insurance
* Registration fee

By Mail
If your name, address, and vehicle type are listed correctly on your renewal notice, you may renew by mail.

* If your renewal notice does not have a PIN, include proof of car insurance
* Pay with a check, money order, or credit card
* Mail the renewal notice, proof of insurance (if applicable), payment, and the renewal worksheet (if ordering a new plate or paying with a credit card) to:
Michigan Department of State
Renewal By Mail
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 4890-0001

Expect your registration in about two weeks.

By Telephone
If your name, address, and vehicle type are listed correctly on your renewal notice, and it includes a PIN, you may renew by phone.

* Have a Visa, Discover, or MasterCard for payment
* Call (517) 334-9444 and follow the directions. Drivers with hearing impairments should call (517) 334-9477.

Expect your registration in about two weeks.

Self-Service Station
If your name, address, and vehicle type are listed correctly on your renewal notice, and it includes a PIN, you may renew

* Have a Visa, Discover, or MasterCard for payment
* Go to a self-service station at any PLUS office, SUPER!Center, and some government offices

The Self-Service Station will immediately print your receipt and vehicle tab.

Affix Your StickersRegistration-Renewals

Affix your registration tab to the plate’s upper right corner.

Get a Tax DeductionRegistration-Renewals

You can declare the registration cost, except for the $8 service fee, as a deduction, provided you file using a long form.

Do Your Part to Keep Our Roadways SafeRegistration-Renewals

Follow a simple maintenance routine to keep your vehicle running safely. This includes regular oil changes, tune-ups, and tire rotations, as well as replacing your tires when necessary. Also consider enrolling in a roadside assistance program and purchasing an after-market auto warranty to protect yourself and your wallet. Make sure you have a skilled mechanic you trust.