If this is NOT the first time registering your vehicle in Idaho, the information you need can be found through a different license renewal page.
There are many scenarios in which you must register your vehicle in your name, including the following:
* established Idaho residency
* purchased a used car from a private party
* transferred ownership to you via gift, family, or inheritance
If purchasing a vehicle within state lines, you have 30 days to register. You will be charged with a $20 late fee if you go beyond this timeframe. If you acquired the vehicle in another state, the 30-day timeframe begins the day you bring it into Idaho state.
If you are a new Idaho resident, you are given 90 days to register with Idahos Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
NOTE: you must first title your vehicle before registering.
In addition to registering your vehicle, by law you must insure your vehicle. You can research and compare rates of various insurance providers before picking one.
Prepare the PaperworkCar-Registration
The dealer will complete a title transaction if you are purchasing a car through a dealership. Then you take this to your local county assessors office. You must title the vehicle before you can register.
The following is the procedure to follow if you just purchased a used vehicle from a private party or recently relocated to Idaho:
1. Have the title signed over to you.
2. Complete the title application.
3. Pay all applicable registration fees.
Order a vehicle history report before purchasing a used car.
Calculate the FeesCar-Registration
Many factors are involved when determining the exact registration fees, including county of residence and vehicle age.
If your registering for the first time, you will most likely face additional charges. Depending on your situation, you may be charged for new plates, postage for the new plates, and a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection.
Go to the DMVCar-Registration
After collecting all of the necessary documents, bring them in to your local county assessors office.
Youll need to order license plates: you can choose between a standard plate ($25) or a special-plate (fees vary). There are many options with special-plates (you can even order complementary license-plate frames). Research your various plates and placards options before going to the DMV.
Affix Your StickersCar-Registration
You will be issued a registration sticker that confirms you are legally registered. Affix this sticker to the rear plate according to the accompanying instructions.
Get a Tax DeductionCar-Registration
The DMV has no definitive answer with regards to tax deductions. You will need to inquire with an accountant or a tax attorney to determine if a deduction is available.
Safely Get On Your WayCar-Registration
The paperwork is complete, and you are officially registered. Now you need to focus on auto dependability.
Consider subscribing to a roadside assistance package. This is very useful if you are unsure of car basics, such as jumping a battery or changing a flat tire. An after-market auto warranty will also eliminate worrying about costly, yet necessary, auto repairs. Also find a trustworthy, reliable mechanic for vehicle maintenance.
Other items are available for safe driving. Consider investing in a hands-free headset. If you have kids, make sure they have reliable child safety seats. Its always smart to carry a car emergency kit with you in your vehicle.